03/12/2019 Handball in Hospital (that s Co Limerick... The 2019 South Limerick Primary Schools Handball took place on Monday... read on
01/12/2019 West are Best after extra time in Limerick... The curtain came down on the Allianz Cumann na mBunscol season last... read on
24/11/2019 Finals in Kerry Three of the Allianz Cumann na mBunscol rural finals were played... read on

Upcoming Events

GAA News

Finals in Kerry   24/11/2019

Three of the Allianz Cumann na mBunscol rural finals were played in bitterly cold but thankfully dry conditions in Austin Stacks Park in Traleeon Thursday last. Underfoot conditions were near perfect in spite of the torrential rainfall during the previous day which led to Wednesday’s fixtures being abandoned and will be rescheduled for next week. In the 3 Teacher final Murher NS Moyvane appearing in their first ever Allianz Cumann na mBunscol final played some exciting attacking football to claim the title. Scoil Mhuire Cúl appearing in their first 4/5 teacher final also claimed the title while Tarbert successfully defended the 4/5 teacher shield final. On this the 25th year of competition only two finals are to be completed the 2 Teacher final featuring Scoil an Chlocháin and Leacht Brudair and the Div. 1 encounter between Scoil Eoin Naofa, An Neidín and Scoil an Teaghalach Naofa, An Ráth Mhóir. These finals are scheduled for Thursday next in Austin Stacks Park.

Allianz Cumann na mBunscol 4/5 teacher Shield Final

In the opening game of the evening Scoil Saidhbhín started this Allianz Cumann na mBunscol 4/5 Teacher Shield Final in fine form and dominated the openening exchanges but, were not able to convert that dominance into scores. Ciara Clifford, Niall O’ Sullivan and Katie Foster were all to the fore as their top scorer in the campaign to date Daithi Sugrue kicked over their first score eight minutes in. Tarbert in their first attack two minutes later landed the opening goal of the afternoon.  Tadhg O’ Connell was at the end of a fast counter attacking move to send an unstoppable shot to the roof of the net.

Caherciveen popped over three more points but thanks to some stout defending from Tarbert.  Cahersiveen were denied several more scores. In the dying seconds of this half Tarbert went on an all out countered attack and worked a superb team goal. Right from defence through the hard-working Michael Coolahan and it was coolly finished to the net by Cathal Halton. This left them leading at the short whistle 2-0 to 0-4.

On the resumption Daithi Sugrue fired over for Scoil Saidhbhín but Tarbert responded kicking four unanswered points, three  coming from the boot of the impressive Lee Mulvihill. A late goal from the ever dangerous Daithi Sugrue set-up a nail-biting finale but the men from the banks of the Shannon held on to retain their Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Shield title on a final scoreline of Tarbert 2-4 Cahersiveen 1-5. Captain Thady Mulvihill accepted the shield much to the delight of the Tarbert supporters.

Tarbert NS Eoin Normile, Séamus Carrig, Dónal Finucane, Dylan Kennedy, Mikey Carmody, Lee Mulvihill, Micheal Coolahan, Pa Dillon, Cathal Halton, Tadgh O Connell, Jack Walsh, Thady Mulvihill (Captain) Robert Fitzell, Shéa Culhane, Cillian Haugh, Liam Musgrave, Pádraig Kissane

Scoil Saidhbhín Seán Griffin, Ciara Clifford, Keven Weng, Adam Nasser, LexieO’Donoghue, Niall O’Sullivan, Mark O’Connor, Sarah O’Connor, Katie Foster, Jakub Alberski, Daithi Sugrue, CaoimheO’Donoghue, Killian O’Connell, Evan McCarthy, Jakub Derylak, Finn O’Neill, Joe O’Mahony


Allianz Cumann na mBunscol 3 Teacher Final.

It was North against East in this Allianz Cumann na mBunscol 3 Teacher Final as Murhur N.S., Moyvane appearing in their first final pitted themselves against Knockanes of Glenflesk who are well accussumed to finals day in Austin Stacks Park.

Knockanes settled the better kicking the first two points of the game but Murhur quickly responded rattling off 1-3 without reply. Muireann Healy goaled for Knockanes but again the team from the “Boro” hit back with two points from their inspiring captain Eamonn Bowler. Half-time score: Murhur N.S.lead 1-5 to 1-2 at the end of an exciting and pulsating opening half.

The North Kerry outfit were in sparkling form in the second half playing some scintillating football. ConorMulvihill pointed, Eamonn Bowler kicked 2-3 and in the space of opening six mins they opened up a commanding lead. Knockanes to their credit kept going to the end but it was to be Murhur’s day as Conor Mulvihill landed a late goal to seal the deal.

 Knockanes N.S. Sarah Dineen, Brian O’ Connor Dennehy, TadhgHerlihy, Aoise O’ Donoghue, Abby Marie Cronin, James Kelly, Darren O’ Sullivan D’arcy, Muireann Healy, Kiera O’ Sullivan, Fionn Lynch, Robert Cahill, Abby Doherty, Jayden Kelly, Cliona Moynihan, Isaac Casey, Brian O’ Connell, Cian O’ Donoghue

Murhur N.S. Oisin Stack, Donncha O’ Connor, Mikala Mulvihil, Conor Mulvihil, Kiegan Moloney, James Kissane, Darragh O’ Donoghue, Eamonn Bowler, Ger Mulvihill, Muiris Kearney, David Brassil, Cian Fitzgerald, Javk O’ Connor, Rory Lally, Cian Sexton McEnery


Allianz Cumann na mBunscol 4/5 Teacher Final 

In the third game of the evening the Allianz Cumann na mBunscol 4/5 Teacher final Kilmurry NS, Cordal proved too strong for Scoil Iognáid Rís, Daingean Uí Chúis. Appearing in their first final of this decade at this grade Iognáid Rís had a great run of results in tight games on route to the final when they amassed fifteen goals in total in their victories over St. Finian’s, Waterville and Loreto Killarney but, on the night were met by a strong Kilmurry outfit who had stronger all round performers in Gerard Costello, Jamie Nolan, Evan Kelliher and outstanging captain Shane Kelliher.  Iognáid Rís had top performances from Ned Ó Riain at midfield, Daniel Ó Mathúna in goal and Jack Mac an tSíthigh in defence. Gerard Costello accounted for 1-3 of their first half tally as Kilmurry led comfortably at the break. In typical fashion the Dingle boys fought back bravely in the second half but the Kilmurry outfit were not to be denied as they claimed a first 4/5 teacher title to adding to a 3 Teacher title lomg time back  when this year’s Kerry Junior captain Philip O Connor was one of their top performers.

Scoil Iognáid Rís, Daingean Uí Chúis. DanielÓ Mathúna, Tiernan Ó Curnáin, Maksimus Lemnickis, Maitiú Ó hAlluráin, Jack Mac an tSíthigh, Seán Mac an tSíthigh, Ned Ó Riain , Denis Ó Conchúir, Tamim Rahman, Owen Ó Catháin, Jack Greely , Marco Szezpaniak, Tomás Ó Moráin, Konrad Kopec, Cillian Ó Dúill.

Scoil Mhuire Cúl. Michéal Hickey, Fergal Enright, Cillian Moroney, Shay O’Connor, Evan Kelliher, Thomas Kelliher, Shane Kelliher (Capt), Jamie Nolan, Gerard Costello, Shane O ConnelL, Gearóid Donegan, Michael Lenihan, Danny Murphy, Tadhg McCarthy, Gearóid Collins, Killian Horgan, Jamie Murphy, Mark Keane, Killian Horgan Lyons, Dónal Murphy.