07/06/2018 Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Tyrone Finals... nbsp; Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Th iacute;r Eoghain held their eagerly... read on
07/06/2018 St Bride s PS are Boys 7 s Football Champions... St. Bride #39;s boys #39; Gaelic footballers travelled to Creggan... read on
05/06/2018 2018 INTO Mini Sevens are getting closer... Gerry O Meara, known to all in Dublin and Leinster Cumann na Bunscol... read on

Upcoming Events

GAA News

01/01/1970 read on

Mini Sevens Fever in Kerry   24/05/2018

Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Chiarraí

INTO Mini Sevens finals 2018.

  Tom Healy Park Abbeydorney was the venue for the festival of hurling and camogie in Kerry. These finals were rescheduled from the previous week due to the inclement weather and thankfully were played in near perfect conditions. The sod was perfect for hurling well cut, dry and the four juvenile pitches in Tom Healy Park Abbeydorney were well marked out by hurling co coordinator Mr. Conor Kearney and his team of volunteers. The games were well refereed by Patrick Corridon, Liam Goggin and local youngsters Ronán Donovan ans Michael Slattery. The players had however to contend with an ever strengthening breeze blowing in from the west but all in all they judged this well and we witnessed some excellent score taking from play, frees and sideline cuts throughout an enjoyable days hurling.

  Close on two hundred and fifty children participated, some getting to wear their school jersey for the first time as they went in search of the coveted Mini Sevens county titles in camogie and hurling. Fifteen hurling teams and nine camogie took part in this year’s competition and all teams got a minimum of two or three group games. The semi finalists got four and the teams contesting the finals played five with the winners really earning their county title.


In the hurling Abbeydorney, Ardfert, Killury and Fenit contested group A with Ardfert topping the group. Dromclough, Drumnacurra, Glenderry and Ballyduff faced off in group B with Ballyduff coming through. Group C saw Sliabh A’Mhadra, Kilmoyley, Lixnaw and Buailín Siar do battle and Lixnaw topped the group. In group D Spa, Gaelscoil Mhic Easmainn and Kilflynn fought for the semi- final spot and Kilflynn came through.

The two semi final were played side by side and those present though cheering on their respective school were captivated by the level of skill, commitment and honesty of the players battling for the final spot on both pitches. Ardfert appeared to have a leg in the final as they led by a solitary point close to the final whistle. But the never say die attitude of their opponents Ballyduff saw them score a last grasp goal to win by two points. In the other semi final neighbour Lixnaw and Kilflynn produced another epic with St. Treasa’s Kilflynn prevailing on this occasion.

The final was keenly contested.Scoil Treasa Naofa, Kilflynn were 1-3 to 1-2 ahead at the break. The lead score of the half coming from young Evan O Sullivan with a Joe Canning like sideline cut. Sean Mc Elligott scored a well taken goal while Sean and Evan added a point each from play. Killian Boyle on the Ballyduff side was their top marksman of the opening half with an impressive 1-2. Killian Boyle levelled matters from the restart but a Seán Mc Elligott effort nudged Kilflynn in front again. However, the more balanced Ballyduff outfit were gaining in confidence and two unstoppable shots from Killian Boyle and Luke Rochford set them on the road to victory. Aaron Whyte who was outstanding throughout the afternoon seemed to seal the deal with an excellent effort from play. However, the Kilflynn boys weren’t giving up and went in search of goals to haul themselves back into contention but it wasn’t to be their day. They did register two more points from Seán Mc Elligott and Jack Ryan to close the gap but Ballyduff were not to be denied and claimed the title. Final score Ballyduff 3-4 Scoil Treasa Naofa 1-6

An Baile Dubh. Killian Murphy, Rory Phelan, Ryan O Rourke, Killian Boyle, Aaron Whyte, dean Whyte, Luke Rochford, Stefan Carrig, Justin Mc Carthy, Christopher Ross and Reece O Connor.

Scoil Treasa Naofa, Cill Floinn. Donal O Connell, Seán Rohan, Jack Ryan, Seán Tuomey Mc Elligott, Ryan Hurley, Cillian Hurley, Bryan Quilter, Evan O Sullivan and Óisín Heaton.

Nine camogie teams participated in three groups as follows. In group A Ardfert defeated Killury and Buailín Siar to top the group. The winners in group B were Scoil Chríost Rí, Drumnacurra/ Baile an Chrosaigh with victories over Glenderry and Kilflynn while group C was topped by Kilmoyley following victories over Lixnaw and Sliabh A’ Mhadra.This scenario necessitated a draw as there were three winners. Drumnacurra/ Ballincrossig went straight to the final while Ardfert faced neighbours Kilmoyley in the semi final. Ardfert played with the aid of a stiff breeze in the opening half and thanks to a brace of goals from Amy O Loughlin led by a goal at the short whistle 2-0 to 1-0. Ciara O Sullivan slotted the Kilmoyley goal. Kilmoyley went about reducing the deficit from the restart but found their passage to goal blocked. They reverted to point taking and were level with two minutes remaining thanks to fine conversions from top player Ruth O Connor. Knowing that a draw wouldn’t suffice the Ardfert girls went on an all out attack but were caught on the counter with a last minute Kilmoyley goal finished to the net following a goal mouth scramble by Kate Maunsell. Final score Kilmoyley 2-3 Ardfert 2-0.

Kilmoyley attacked from the start in the final but failed to convert two goal scoring opportunities and they also saw a pile driver from Ruth O Connor go inches wide. At the other end the Drumnacurra / Ballincrossig combination found the net with long range efforts from star player Tara Burke who was well assisted by Ciara O Sullivan in the mid field battle to lead 2-0 to 0-0 at the break. Kilmoyley fought bravely in the second half with excellent performances from Caoimhe Regan, Ciara O Sullivan, Kate Maunsell and their goal scorer Ruth O Connor but on this occasion the Drumnacurra/ Ballincrossig combination were not to be denied and they landed two more second half goals through Tara Burke and Cara O Reilly. Lauren Garcia, Grace Cantilon and Sara Slattery also gave top performances in a hard earned but deserved victory.

Final score Drumnacurra / Ballincrossig 4-0 Kilmoyley 1-0

Panels. Scoil Chríost Rí/Baile an Chrosaigh. Tara Burke, Lauryn Garcia, Emma Leen, Sarah Slattery, Cara O Reilly, Grace Cantilon, Maggie Walsh, Sarah Diggins, Megan Barrett,Ella Digggins

Kilmoyley. Laura Nolan, Caoimhe Regan. Gráinne Carroll, Ruth O Connor, Ciara O Sullivan, Kate Maunsell, Aisling Kirby Lynch.